Made in Newnan

Under the Summer Sky

Under the Summer Sky

The summer of 2013 is shaping up to be one of the rainiest on record for Georgia. Rainy weather makes for dramatic skies, and it also creates challenging lighting conditions when shooting indoors with window light. Challenging can also equal beautiful, and I was fortunate enough to capture both during a recent session with model and photographer Sara, at a friend’s property in Newnan, GA.

Sara

Sara

Newnan is four and one-half hours north and west of Savannah, and approximately one hour southwest of Atlanta. The property where I worked is comprised of beautiful wooded and grassy spaces with a moderate and comfortable house, all situated on a small creek fed pond. An abundance of woods make it very private during the summer months and it is the perfect location in which to create beautiful work.

Sara, Nude Study in Window

Sara, Nude Study in Window

I’ve known the family that owns the place for most of my life. I grew up with their children, and they have all become my own family by extension. I’ve been there countless times over the years, and why I never thought of it as a possible working location, I can’t say. However, at the family patriarch’s recent 80th birthday celebration, the potential of the location as place to work with nudes hit me like the proverbial ton of bricks. Ask and you shall receive, as the saying goes.

Summer Repose

Summer Repose

While I was somewhat worried about the predicted weather for our shoot day, an 80% chance of rain and severe thunderstorms, we saw few raindrops and heard no thunder although there were moments where I thought we may have to run for cover.  My worries were abated, as we had velvety soft light the majority of the time, and the periods of dramatic and angry looking storm clouds moving overhead were brief. We even saw the sun on one or two occasions. I’m delighted to say I’ve been granted access to the property for future sessions.

In the meantime, I hope you enjoy the new work. Be well, and stay in touch.

This entry was posted in Black & White, Entries, Fine Art, Landscapes, Nature, Nude Figure and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Made in Newnan

  1. Barry Dudley says:

    Bill, like always your images have an elegant “feel” to them. The first shot with the dramatic skies is excellent!

  2. silvermythago says:

    I love how in ‘Sara, Nude Study in Window’ you managed to capture so much outside the window. Fantastic light, perfect cropping and composition.

  3. Dave Swanson says:

    I have not visited in awhile. Super images that have been added since my last visit.

Leave a Reply

