Thinking in Abstract

Evening Shade, Study #2

As it’s been a while since I’ve posted any abstract work, here are some from sessions shot earlier in the year. These were interesting to shoot, and as I did the post work on them, I came to realize that during the time I was doing the actual photography, I was manipulating the light streaming through the window to such a degree that it reminded me of the days spent shooting in studio, with strobes and monolights. A small thing to note perhaps, but important in that it’s the most I’ve ever worked to make natural window light do something other than simply ‘light.’

Evening Shade, Study #1

Also, photographing the body as an abstract is at the roots of my work with the nude. My very first gallery exhibition was almost exclusively abstracted images. For the last three or four years, I’ve been shooting more full figurative work with little or no abstraction. Many photographers have documented many nudes in this style of lighting and posing. The ‘striped nude’ is nothing new. However, for me they represent a meshing of shooting styles, both of which have served me well. I hope you enjoy them.

Evening Shade, Study #3

The house still isn’t listed with a realtor yet, but should be this coming week. Family medical issues, my workload, and many of the things I swore off lamenting about are all still ever present, slowing our planning and progress. Plow ahead, and damn the torpedoes as they say.

Take care, and I’ll see you all soon.

This entry was posted in Entries. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

