So Close, All Along…

Nude in Chair by Window, Study #1

As I sat staring at the blank screen, it became clear to me I’m at a loss as to about what it is that I should write. This is a blog about photography and yes, I’ve posted my share of wordy entries in the past. Mostly, those posts have been few and far between and that’s the way I want it to be – more images; fewer words.

That last statement aside, blogs are also undeniably about words, and like faces in photographs, words are important. I believe that I’ve fallen into a rut. Reading past posts, I feel as if I’ve had little of real interest to say, at least in my recent posts and those of the not so distant past. I lament, seemingly here more than elsewhere, and I do it a lot. I’m either too busy, too distracted, too frustrated, too preoccupied, too uninspired. In one of my favorite books, “The Day Books of Edward Weston”, Mr. Weston laments, and he does it a lot. Truthfully, as in his ability to see and photograph puts me to shame, I do not come close to the level or volume of Weston’s laments. Frequently, he would reread his journals then burn them in disgust, declaring himself a weakling; an incompetent. Then, after pushing ahead with one or more of his favorite ‘feel better’ remedies, typically involving women and alcohol, he would fall back in his groove.

So before this post becomes a lament of the fact I lament, I’ll stop. Instead, like Edward but with remedies which won’t land me in a divorce, I’ll work to make more art.

Nude in Chair by Window, Study #2

The summer months have been a series of photographic bursts; one impromptu session and then another, with only a few governed by any sort of planning. The weather has been monsoonal to say the least. (No lament here. Solid fact. Ask anyone who lives here.) Tropical would be another way to describe it; not in the idyllic palm tree and beach vision of tropical, but more like the heavy gray skies with weight filled humidity and mugginess vision of tropical. The dominating solid overcast skies have actually produced beautiful and soft light, perfect for soft, dreamy figurative studies and portraits. In the few sessions when we’ve had partly cloudy skies, it’s been an amusing race with the light; model and photographer running from one room to another, the model quickly dropping into her pose, me the photographer shooting, shooting, shooting…and then the light changes. This isn’t a lament in disguise, I promise. In a strange sort of ‘get me out of my comfort zone’ way, shooting like this has been fun.

If I can indulge in one last lament, it’s that I didn’t take advantage of the light so close to home sooner. Much sooner. The light is wonderful, as can be seen in today’s images. Captured during a moment of soft sunlight, it’s one of the times in these summer sessions when everything came together. I love it when that happens.

This entry was posted in Entries, Fine Art, Nude Figure and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to So Close, All Along…

  1. Ching says:

    Your writing is as good as your photograph, always interests me! Thanks for sharing!

  2. Bill Ballard says:

    Thank you Ching! It’s good to hear from you. I hope you are well.

  3. laura says:

    Bill sometimes a picture says a thousand words. In other words, it’s ok with me if you just post them. But I do like to know if I got what the artist is trying to convey. But sometimes it’s just about beautiful things.

  4. Bill Ballard says:

    True, very true. Thank you for the reminder!

  5. Barry Dudley says:

    Bill i always enjoy your blog post and certainly enjoy your photographic work. You are a source of inspiration. The two photos above are excellent. A sense of serenity and the poses are realistic and believable. Please keep it coming!

  6. Bill Ballard says:

    Thank you Barry! We must shoot together sometime!

Leave a Reply

