The Ides of March

Dyaphanye in Sepia

It’s been a harried life; a sudden and unforeseen extended work assignment out of town, the transition of my wife from one job to a new one, combined with the general busyness that is overwhelming at times has me dancing as fast as I can.

Unfortunately, it’s kept me from my cameras, and for a while, I wondered if I would be able to keep my promise to update here at least once per month. I’m a few days beyond my mid-month goal. Better late than never as they say.

I’m sure you’ve already surmised there’s little for me to report from the perspective of photography, but hang tight. There will be, and soon. I’m planning sessions in my home as I’ve noticed the late afternoon sun creating some unusual effects with light and shadow in the rooms which face west. The light changes very quickly, and for someone who normally works slowly and methodically, such as I do, keeping pace will be challenging. Also challenging will be working around the mess and clutter of painting, repairs, etc, as we continue to ready the house for sale. Nonetheless, watch for images to follow.

***************************************************************************************

The Griffin project continues to be on hold and that makes me a bit fearful. Many of the old buildings, interesting but not protected, are in danger of being razed. One has already burned. Still, I remain hopeful.

***************************************************************************************

Contemplation

Today’s photographs are a mix of old and new; a portrait of Dyaphanye, shot this past January at West Hall Street, and one from the ETHOS project, ‘Contemplation’, shot in studio during the winter of 2008.

This entry was posted in Entries, Fine Art, Nude Figure and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Ides of March

  1. A. J. Kahn says:

    Life’s demands can sometimes take you away from what you love. When time allows, your renewed passion will pay dividends. I look forward to seeing what your new projects bring.

  2. Dave says:

    Great work, Bill, as always. That photo of Dyaphanye is beautiful! As is she…

  3. Bill Ballard says:

    Indeed they can, A.J. I was just telling someone, that for those that know what a methodical planner I am, I can’t help but see the irony of the fact that impromptu and spontaneous sessions are what’s working for me now.

  4. Bill Ballard says:

    Thank you much Dave. She and I will be working together again soon. I’m happy to hear things are on the mend for you from your tumble.

Leave a Reply

