Welcome to 2012

Untitled Nude, Reclining #2

A very Happy New Year to all!

My post today is simple and brief. I’ve been enduring my holiday cold and all of its accompanying joy, as well dealing with those year-end rituals required of the self-employed, and trying to stay busy coordinating my Griffin project.

Griffin, in this case, refers to the small Georgia mill town where I was born and raised. Actually, I’m not sure Griffin still is a ‘mill town’ per se; the textile industry, like so many others, is fading away there. Regardless, I went on a brief scouting excursion there with an old friend after Christmas and am eager to get shooting. It has easily been 15 years since I spent any time in town and much as changed. Still, Griffin’s bones are largely intact. My goal is to begin shooting by February.

*******************************************************************************

Untitled Nude, Reclining #1

Today’s images are from what became my last session of 2011. They are of model and friend Sarah H and were shot during an impromptu session on a lazy Sunday afternoon at her home the week before Christmas.

This entry was posted in Black & White, Entries, Fine Art, Nude Figure and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Welcome to 2012

  1. Dave says:

    Lovely work with the forms and shadows.

  2. Bill Ballard says:

    Thank you Dave…

  3. Dave Rudin says:

    Good look with the hometown project, Bill. Nice photos here, too. (Why can’t I have friends like that???)

    Dave

  4. Bill Ballard says:

    Thanks Dave! Sarah’s a model I’ve worked with extensively over a four year period and our friendship has developed over that time. And after reading your comment, I see that my post implies we were hanging out and suddenly decided to shoot; that was not the case. I used the term ‘impromptu’ loosely here, in that the shoot was planned only a day or two before we shot, and using her home was a last minute decision we both made. As I typically plan my sessions weeks out, this was for me, an ‘impromptu’ session.

  5. I said it before but just want to mention it again, really beautiful and natural work again. I will continue to follow you through 2012

  6. Bill Ballard says:

    Thank you very much Thomas! I appreciate your being here!

  7. Ad@m says:

    I love this. The light play and the mystique…inspiring!

  8. A. J. Kahn says:

    Your reclining series here is absolutely beautiful. Such soft lighting and lovely shadows.

Leave a Reply

