A Simple Portrait

Sarah

********************************************************************************

There’s nothing new to report from the perspective of my photography.

However, a recent trend in digital imaging technology really bothers me: video capabilities integrated into modern DSLR cameras. Fortunately, I’m not the only one who feels it’s a  silly and stupid thing. ‘Still-camera-video’ is to me, an oxymoron. So just for kicks, take a look at this entry on my friend Dave Levingston’s blog.

Dave’s points are more on the art and craft of movie making and not just the technology. Do DSLR cameras really need to shoot video? Just as digital photography suddenly made everyone a photographer, DSLR video is now making everyone a film producer. Is this an ability professional or even amateur photographers genuinely want? Seriously? Shooting video is why I thought video cameras were made – and I don’t know anyone who shoots a video camera for still photography. I’m just sayin’.

Hopefully, it’s a marketing gimmick in which Mr. Nikon and Mr. Canon and most of their consumers will quickly lose interest. Hopefully.

********************************************************************************

I hope you enjoy this portrait of pretty model Sarah, made on a lazy summer Sunday afternoon in Savannah.

This entry was posted in Entries and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Simple Portrait

  1. Luis says:

    I really like your work and the models as well. There is one in particiular. She seems to be “Red” though the pics are black and white. She is something!! Your job gets easier with models like that.

  2. Bill Ballard says:

    Thank you Luis. Most of the models with whom I work are not professional; many are my friends and acquaintances.

Leave a Reply

