Staying the Course

Sanctuary

********************************************************************************

For someone as busy as I’ve been the past few days, I’ve little to show for it. This is particularly true where photography is concerned. My incantation remains much the same; the day job interferes, edits continue…and there’s nothing new for me to talk about with my photography.

Perhaps that’s not entirely true. New sessions are in the works and I’m taking a much less structured approach to shoot planning. No methodical session outlines, casting calls for new models, etc. I’m working much more loosely. Some planning is necessary of course, securing locations as an example; however, the minor details can be dealt with much less stringently.

In a nutshell, I’m going to shoot more from the hip. I’ve a good, reliable network of local models that are often available on reasonably short notice. The longer days of summer are just around the corner. When inspiration strikes, a phone call or text is sent, and voila! Shooting happens.

That’s the plan, anyway.

Another decision I’ve made is to get out and about with my cameras. I’ve been shooting nudes exclusively for at least five years and I feel myself slipping into a rut. I’ve built a huge inventory of figurative images and think it’s time for a little variety. Look for new and other subjects to appear here in the weeks and months ahead.

********************************************************************************

Forme Study #153

This entry was posted in Entries and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Staying the Course

  1. I think its called “Life” and all of its distractions…. : )

  2. Dave Rudin says:

    I look forward to seeing your new type of work, Bill, and I understand what you’re saying. I’m glad I have my travel photography to do as an alternative to only doing nudes. Good luck with it.

    Dave (writing from Saigon, Vietnam)

  3. Bill Ballard says:

    Thanks Dave. The transition will be a slow one, but it is also one that needs to happen.

    I look forward to seeing your newest work from Vietnam. I hope your trip has been enjoyable.

Leave a Reply

