The Moody Blues…

Duality Study #1

*********************************************************************************

More time than I intended has passed between this and the last post. Of course, there are the usual suspects to blame, specifically the day job, but the simple fact that I’ve been lazy about it; even slightly apathetic, can’t be ignored.

I write it off to the weather and the general funk I often find myself in this time of year.

Nonetheless, I’ve decided to scale back on shooting. Last summer, I shot with more models in one consecutive stretch of time than I’ve done before. The work was good, and I still believe it to be some of my best, so while extremely gratifying, it was also exhausting. Worst is I’ve only scratched the surface of last summer’s images one year after serious shooting began. Making similar investments in time and effort during this year doesn’t make much sense in the grand scheme.

There will be shooting; just less of it, and different. Working with the figure in nature has been something I’ve not done. I want to add that to the repertoire and the truth is I’ve been having loads of fun just scouting locations.

Here is Duality Study #1 as promised.

This entry was posted in Entries and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Moody Blues…

  1. laura clements says:

    Bill,
    I like it. And you will like this… At first view I thought it reminded me of a lava lamp. The shapes that would be made from the rising liquid slowly colliding. Then like a ton of bricks it hit me! There it is; what Bill had been trying to convay. The shape and the way the light works on that shape. The curves. Then I wondered if may you had photographed with different lighting. and then I wondered did you take advantage of the bank of fog that i think all of Georgia was under earlyer this week. Remembering ” What I Saw One Morning.” sorry my mind does that. And as my mind was drifting off into this wave of enlightenment you hit the breaks and my head snaped forward. ” I’ve decided to scale back on shooting.” Ok you’ve said this before. Bill if you shoot you shoot, if you don’t we are not going to come to your house with torches in hand. I stopped for a long time because the portrait day to day made photography a chore. Once a friend and I were talking about art and he said about a photo by Stieglitz of Georgia O’keeffe, you see he photographed what he loved. This may be corny but the creation of art like love can not always be intense it will burn out quickly. But like real love it always draws you back. So promise us nothing and just form time to time let look at your labor of love. Or you could just ask Bret Favre.

  2. Dave Rudin says:

    I know exactly how you feel, Bill. You want to do so many things with your photos but you don’t have the time because you’re spending so much time developing film, etc.

    Actually, I don’t know if you develop film anymore, but I still do, and it seems I am perpetually behind. (It’s February now and I’m developing film that I shot back in June!) I keep telling myself that I will shoot less so that I can have time to do other things like work on a book project, make magazine submissions and even actually make some prints in the darkroom.

    I would like to see you try to do some outdoor work with the figure. Perhaps I can join you one day in doing so (as a photographer, that is!) if I head down your way.

  3. Bill Ballard says:

    Thank you Laura –

    Yes, I’m like Brett Farve (in some ways!) in that I do back away and then jump back in again. A curious thing about blogging, and perhaps writing in general, is that when the words flow it’s a dialogue with yourself. I’m not telling the world what my intentions are per se, as much as I tell myself.

    Perhaps that why I’m rarely successful in scaling back. Maybe that’s a good thing.

  4. Bill Ballard says:

    If anyone would understand, I knew that you would!

    I’m sorry I missed your call last night. I was having dinner with a friend and by the time I saw you had called, it was late.

    No, I’m not developing any film nowadays. My time is taken up by my job; the one that allows me to be a photographer. But I understand what you mean. You’re behind in developing, I’m behind in selecting and editing. We share the same goals, as I’m hoping that scaling back will allow me to catch up. As I pointed out in my reply to Laura’s comments above, I’m rarely successful.

    Working the figure in nature is something I’m looking forward to. If we can manage it should you be able to visit in the spring, all the better.

  5. Dave Hunt says:

    Hi Bill, long time no chat. I found your recent blogs of some comfort, after a bout 5 years of shooting studio and location nudes I guess I started to ask what it was all about and like you found myself pulling back. Time, finance, inspiration, life !

    Ultimate aim was to gain experience, perfect the old skills, but ultimately sell prints, 1 and 2 under the belt, no. 3 is a very slow climb to fame and fortune. Last year i only did about 10 shoots, and 7 were in one week and 3 in another, both with a fellow photographer who is on a mission to build a portfolio. Then a few for personal work on a project now going to print.

    Must say i do like your new WordPress site, tempting, watch this space. Sad thing is in the week I typed a similar reply on my iPod, all seemed so easy on such a wee device, well impressed but did it actually send – just a spinning wheel for an hour so something to investigate.

    Promise not to be so illusive in the future.
    Dave
    Scotland

  6. free mp3 says:

    i take to it The Moody Blues… | Bill Ballard Photography now im your rss reader

  7. Bill Ballard says:

    Dave,

    It’s wonderful to hear from you! I’m happy to have sympathetic ears; or perhaps sympathetic ‘sets of eyes’ is a better way to phrase it. Regardless, it seems that many of us find ourselves in similar situations and struggles. The goals you listed, I’m confident to say, are shared goals. Numbers one and two will come with time and effort, but number three is indeed the tough one. A willing partner is required for that dance, and actually, willing isn’t enough, for they must be giving as well. So, we work for ourselves, some of us seeking fame and fortune, others just for the work. I once told a colleague who made a quip about fame and fortune that I myself did not want fame. Fortune, yes. Fame; not for me. But fame for the work? Absolutely! As it goes however, I have little to fear on either account it seems!

    I’m happy you like the WordPress site. I have no regrets of the switch, and those peers and friends who have moved have none either. If you did send a message from your iPod, I never saw it.

    Be well and do stay in touch –

Leave a Reply

